Ferragamo Museum Hosts Exhibit on ‘Its’ Palace
by Marine Le Canne
From last May 8 up to April 3, 2016 the Museo Salvatore Ferragamo is hosting an exhibition which retraces the steps of the centuries-old history of the Spini Feroni Palace house of the Ferragamo Museum. The exhibit includes prestigious works of art and documents from various museums that tell the intricate stories behind the palace, the city, its residents and travellers.
The Palazzo Spini Feroni stands on one of the most picturesque of Florentine streets. It was built in 1285 by Ruggeri Spini, and it has belonged to the Ferragamo family since 1938, as the “company house.” From 1865 to 1870, it served as the city hall prior to this when Florence served as the capital of the Kingdom of Italy.
From 1873 until 1898, it held the Scientific Cabinet “Letterario Vieusseux.” Visitors of the time included Mark Twain, Vernon Lee, André Gide, Henry James and the artist John Singer Sargent. From 1834 to 1846, the palace was even turned into the most exclusive hotel in town, the “Hotel d’Europe.” Guests included the Austrian Chancellor von Metternich, the future Czar Alexander II, and the pianist and composer Franz Liszt. And finally, from May 8, 2015 to April, 3 2016, the Museo Salvatore Ferragamo will be hosting an exhibition which retraces the steps of the centuries-old history of the palace. It is also a commemoration of the 150 years since Florence was declared the capital of the Kingdom of Italy. “A Palace and the City” includes prestigious works of art and documents from museums and recounts the intricate stories behind the palace, the city, its residents and travellers.
Museo Salvatore Ferragamo
Palazzo Spini Feroni, Piazza Santa trinita
Opening hours: 10 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.
Closed: December 25